Departments  >>  Computer Science and Engg


The Department of Computer Science & Engineering was established in the year 1983 and is now recognized as one of the leading departments with infrastructure and facilities to match the very best in the country. The department remains committed towards its mission, which is twofold. One is to provide students with the fundamental knowledge and problem solving skills in Computer Science required for a fulfilling career. The other goal is to create and disseminate knowledge to improve Computer Science research, education and practice.
The department has academic collaborations with University of New Brunswick, Canada, University of Melbourne, Australia and University of Manitoba, Canada.

Undergraduate Programme

The Department offers a four-year B.E. programme in Computer Science and Engineering in eight semesters. All programmes are accredited by the All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE).
The Undergraduate Programme offfered by the Department are:

B.E. in Computer Science and Engineering(4 years: 8-semesters)
B.E. in Information Technology (4 years: 8-semesters)

Postgraduate Programmes

The Masters programme offered by the Department are: Software Engineering (2 years: 4-semesters)
M.Tech in Computer Science (2 years: 4-semesters)
M.Tech in Information Technology(2 years: 4-semesters)
M.Tech in Information Security( 2 years: 4-semesters)
Master of Computer Application( 3 years: 6- semesters)


Doctoral Programmes

The Department of Computer Science and Engineering offers PhD programmes in various branches of the subject.




Dr. Vandana Bhattacharjee
Professor & HOD
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
Birla Institute of Technology
Mesra, Ranchi
Jharkhand-835 215