Institute  >>  Governance

A “Deemed University” under Sec. 3 of the U. G. C. Act 1956 BIT Mesra functions under the overall supervision, direction and control of a high power Board of Governors, comprising representatives of the Ministry of Education, Government of India, U.G.C, State Government, A.I.C.T.E, The Hindustan Charity Trust and the Institute Faculty. His Excellency, The Governor of Jharkhand is the Chancellor of the University and Shri C.K. Birla is the Chairman of the Board of Governors.

List of Members of Board of Governors

There are several committees formed under the supervision of the Board to look after specific matters in the Institute’s functioning. These include:

  • The Finance Committee
  • The Institute and Building & Works Committee

The Academic Council decides the academic policy of the Institute. It approves the curriculum, courses and the examination results. It appoints Committees like -

  • Regulation Committee for Undergraduate and Postgraduate Courses
  • Semester Programme Co-ordination Committee
  • Admission Committee
  • Scholarship Committee
  • Students Welfare Committee

The teaching, training and research activities of various departments at the Institute are constantly reviewed to monitor both facilities and standards. The Vice – Chancellor of the Institute is the Chairman of the Technical Council.